#movingforward Top Tips

Since beginning of January 2017 my life went on a confusing journey where I have felt so ill but the result has been some changes. This video  made me see light at the end of the tunnel.  This post is about learning to close doors and take a new direction by moving forward.

 

After a 5 year battle of trying to complete a master’s course the pain and upset which came with it was not worth the impact on my well being at the latter part. I was starting to feel judged and not only had my confidence gone but I started to get low self esteem. I stopped running and loss interest in something I enjoyed; I nearly gave up my london marathon place.  My experience can be described as being on a roller coaster and I felt I was always ‘set up to fail’ as I had been labelled and judged/misinterpreted  the direct consequences was me believing that. This  is known as the ‘self fulfilling prophecy’.

Image result for if you judge a fish

The only way to succeed is to remove your self and move forward as the outcome is uncertain.  From doing this it is weight off my shoulders and I feel happy again. When your hitting a wall the hardest thing is to take yourself out of the situation as it is so painful however on the other side there is hope.

 

TOP TIPS FROM MY OWN EXPERIENCE IN MOVING FORWARD

#movingforward

  • Make sure you have lots of #TLC by looking after yourself. How I coped with moving forward this week and will be continuing to do this.  This week I had my nails done and hot stone back massage.I even bought my own shellac kit as I will be ensuring I add some color to my life. Bright colors can make us feel happier!  You got to rebuild your self esteem again by pampering yourself

 

  • Talk to your friends this is very important however you need closure so try not to retell the narrative.

 

  • Pick a new hobby or reconnect to a old one and make new friends. I used to cycle but since returning to Uni I gave this up. I am interested in cycling to work and decided to set myself a challenge.look into evening course and try arts and crafts I am interested in doing a creative writing and art course check out your local colleges.

 

  • Physical exercise is important I enjoy running and this week I regained my confidence and have seen a significant improvement to my well being.  Set goals and personal targets. I have a training plan for the  London marathon it gives me structure and plan tick it off and it will make you feel you achieved something. I am also thinking of joining a gym and doing spinning classes.You get to meet people and have fun group exercise classes can be quite daunting but everyone been in that position when new.

 

  • I got myself a well being book from paperchase it incorporates  mindfulness and enables you to work towards goals. I am also getting a diary as I find starting afresh is good way forward so no memories will pop up e.g dates or deadlines

 

  • Look into having CBT cognitive behaviour therapy via NHS you can even do this online now yourself which allows you be in control and work around your lifestyle.  If you feel negative thoughts are imposing on you still. I find it sometimes helpful talking to objective person who does not know you consider some counselling. Sometimes if we do not deal with our  issues it can affect us later on in life sometimes we need to learn from our lessons and put it in a box. I find doing coloring helpful in relaxing and aiding anxiety. I also find doing a mindmap and putting thoughts to paper helpful as enables you to not carry negative thoughts.

 

  • I have planned  some breaks away I am going to Bath, london,  newcastle and Edinburgh. I am also looking into a holiday abroad as getting out in the sun is good for you and will make you feel better.

 

  •  Plan loads of adventures get outdoors more and enjoy your city put the laptop away.

 

Moving forward is hard and I hope to offer more top tips and advice remember it is okay to cry as it is part of the grieving process.

Leave a comment